Thursday, 23 May 2013

Hinduism And Hindu Scripture


Hinduism is also known by the names Sanatana Dharma and Vaidika Dharma. Sanatana Dharma means eternal religion, the Ancient Law. Vaidika Dharma means the religion of the Vedas.

Hindu scriptures are of two types

  • Shruti 

  • Smriti  

Shruti literature is composed of the four Vedas and the Upanishads.It is the accumulated treasury of spiritual laws discovered by different persons in different times. The initial literature is traditionally believed to be a direct revelation of the “cosmic sound of truth” heard by ancient sages called  Rishis who then translated what was heard into something understandable by humans. 

Shruti forms the central canon of Hinduism and is one of the three main sources of dharma.  It comprises spiritual wisdom revealed to rishis who were cognizant of  the truth and knowledge of the universe that transcends human fabrication.

Post a Comment